Science.

Science.

Science.

Science.

Science.

Science.

We make a science of it.

We challenge the status quo. With our love for food, for our environment, and our passion for science.

Our knowledge of plants and their individual components as well as the use of state-of-the-art analytics and process technology enables us to produce delicious, clean and natural products without long lists of additives. Our goal is to develop plant-based products that are perfectly tailored to the needs of consumers through culinary as well as scientific know-how and innovation.

It all starts with the fibre.

Not only animals have what it takes to make fibres from plant proteins - we can do it too. Only much more efficiently. Thanks to our well-controlled production process and a deep love for our products, the resource-intensive and cruel step of conventional meat production can be skipped without culinary losses. Just skip the animal.

Tailor-made fibre length - from salmon to beef.

By studying the physical and chemical properties and interactions of raw materials in depth, we can tailor and optimise the texture of our products using a variety of plant proteins.

With the help of our sophisticated process technology, we are able to recreate the textures of fish, chicken, pork, and beef almost perfectly. All our products resemble the conventional option not only in texture, but also in taste, appearance and nutritional value.

The imitation of different animal textures should make it possible to banish the animal from the plate without having to give up beloved dishes.

Skip the animal.

Skip the animal.

Skip the animal.

Skip the animal.

Old process

vs.

New process

Vegetable
raw materials.

Know-how.

Thanks to continuous advances in process knowledge, we are constantly developing further and can immediately convert new knowledge into updates for our products. This is how we turn a few selected ingredients into delicious and 100% natural products.

Quality without torture.

We work closely with our suppliers to ensure that the highest product quality standards are maintained. We constantly check the quality of our products with modern laboratory equipment and quality control techniques developed in-house.

Plant-based goodness.

In addition to water, a little oil, a healthy portion of vitamin B12 and spices, our products consist mainly of plant proteins and plant fibres. We have set a goal for each component to fulfill technological, sensory and physiological functions in order to avoid long lists of ingredients.

Proteins

Proteins not only fulfill vital functions in the human body, but their functionality is essential for the fibrous structure of our products. Due to the shearing and thermal treatment during the extrusion process, the proteins arrange themselves in meat-fibre-like structures and solidify, as we are familiar with from protein solidification.

Pea protein

Currently, we mainly use the protein of the yellow pea – pisum sativum, which contributes to a healthy diet through its complete amino acid profile. Legumes, which include peas, can bind with nitrogen in the soil in symbiosis with soil bacteria and therefore generally manage without additional nitrogen fertilisers.

Sunflower protein

The sunflower protein in our planted.pulled helps to form long fibre structures, creates a subtle nutty taste and gives a darker colour. We also give a second life to the press cake from the sunflower oil production.

Oat protein

Oat protein complements the amino acid profile of pea protein with sufficient levels of methionine and cysteine and is therefore an ideal addition to our product portfolio. Diversity is not only important for our food, but also for agriculture. Therefore, we rely on various plant-based raw material sources today and in the future.

Plant fibres

The high proportion of plant fibres in our products is probably the strongest differentiator to animal meat. The plant fibres not only contribute technologically to a pronounced fibre structure and provide the optimal sensory texture in our products, but also play a very important role as "dietary fibre" for a balanced diet. At the moment, we mainly use the fibres of the yellow pea in order to use the full potential of this plant.

Circular economy.

Where possible, raw materials are procured using a circular economy approach in order to be able to produce even more resource-efficiently. This enables us to make an even greater contribution with our products to a sustainable world food system. In order to reduce waste and emissions, material and energy cycles are closed wherever possible and by-product flows from other value chains are made use of. For example, the pressed sunflower seeds used in the production of planted.pulled are a high-quality by-product stream from sunflower oil production, which unfortunately too seldom ends up on consumers' plates. This is where we start to create an even more sustainable product with planted.pulled.

Our
production process.

Wet extrusion for fibre production.

In a process similar to kneading dough, we mix protein flour, vegetable fibres, rapeseed oil and water and heat the whole thing while continuously increasing the temperature. The first boiling makes the mass nice and soft and then we use fine blades to create the fibre structure that is very close to meat. We continuously optimise our production processes with customised, patented solutions that improve the quality of our product, maximise automation and minimise waste.

No chemicals, no additives: the manufacturing of our products is 100% natural and uses only mechanical and thermal processes.

How it works.

Harvest.

In the first step, the farmers harvest the delicious, 100% natural raw materials of all our products.

Flour from plants.

Our partners transform the rich harvest into nutrient-rich flour - the optimal mixture of plant proteins and fibres for further processing in our facilities.

Extrusion.

We then pack the flour mixture into the so-called extruder, where we mix it with water and rapeseed oil, knead it by machine and heat it. Depending on the mixture and fine-tuning of the machine, we create a wide variety of extrudates with individual fibre structures.

Cutting.

The bite-strength results of the extrusion are then machined to the correct size and carefully cutted.

Marinate.

Depending on the product, we then add the appropriate, delicious marinade made exclusively from natural spice mixtures, thus ensuring the incomparable taste of Planted.

Pack and enjoy.

To ensure the shelf-life and quality of our products, they are then packaged hygienically and safely, just like conventional meat, and prepared for travel to pans around the world.

planted.production

Look behind the scenes.

By now you know that we attach great importance to always being transparent. For this reason, we have even built a glashouse in the middle of our factory, which you can take a closer look at in your own time. Why? We want you to see what we are doing - no one needs secrets.

Open innovation & future foods.

We believe that joint research is the key to rapidly improving our world food system. We are therefore very proud to work with various academic and industrial scientists to drive innovation together.

If you are interested in scientific cooperation, please contact our Head of Science

Dr. Patrick Rühs
Head of Science
patrick@planted.ch

Future foods: our mission

In terms of taste, naturalness and health, it is becoming increasingly difficult to meet consumer demands. Traditional food approaches will no longer suffice in the medium to long term - and this is exactly why we are using biology as inspiration to create the meat substitute of the future.

We use the biochemical tools provided by naturally occurring and unmodified bacteria, fungi and individual cells and combine them with our structuring know-how to create the next generation of clean-label foods. Our future and forward-looking food concepts will enable us to meet ever-increasing consumer demands, secure and expand trust, and justify our position in the field of alternative proteins and on plates worldwide.

Open innovation & education.

We firmly believe that sharing knowledge through active communication and knowledge transfer on the topic of plant-based nutrition can pave the way to a sustainable future.

Scientific
collaborations.

#TastyRevolution

#TastyRevolution

#TastyRevolution

#TastyRevolution

#TastyRevolution

#TastyRevolution

#TastyRevolution

#TastyRevolution

Science.

Science.

Science.

Science.

Science.

Science.

Wir machen eine Wissenschaft draus.

Wir stellen den Status Quo in Frage. Mit unserer Liebe zum Essen, zu unserer Umwelt, und unserer Leidenschaft für die Wissenschaft.

Unser Wissen über Pflanzen und deren einzelnen Bestandteile sowie der Einsatz von modernster Analytik und Prozesstechnologie ermöglicht es uns, köstliche, saubere und natürliche Produkte herzustellen, die ohne lange Listen von Zusatzstoffen auskommen.  Unser Ziel ist es, pflanzliche Produkte zu entwickeln, die durch kulinarisches sowie wissenschaftliches Know-how und Innovation perfekt auf die Bedürfnisse der Verbraucher zugeschnitten sind.

Alles beginnt bei der Faser.

Nicht nur Tiere haben es drauf, aus pflanzlichen Proteinen Fasern zu machen – wir können das auch. Nur deutlich effizienter. Dank unseres gut kontrollierten Herstellungsverfahrens und einer tiefen Liebe für unsere Produkte, kann der ressourcenintensive und grausame Schritt der konventionellen Fleischproduktion ohne kulinarische Einbussen übersprungen werden. Just skip the animal.

Massgeschneiderte Faserlänge – von Lachs bis Beef.

Indem wir uns mit den physikalischen und chemischen Eigenschaften und Interaktionen der Rohmaterialien in der Tiefe auseinandersetzen, können wir die Struktur unserer Produkte unter Verwendung verschiedenster pflanzlicher Proteine massschneidern und optimieren.

Mit Hilfe unserer elaborierten Prozesstechnologie schaffen wir es so, die Strukturen von Fisch, Hühnchen, Schwein und auch Rind nahezu perfekt zu rekreieren. All unsere Produkte ähneln der konventionellen Option aber nicht bloss in Textur, sondern auch in Geschmacksnuance, Aussehen und Nährwert.

Die Nachahmung von verschiedenen tierischen Strukturen soll es erlauben das Tier vom Teller zu verbannen ohne auf geliebte Gerichte verzichten zu müssen.

Skip the animal.

Skip the animal.

Skip the animal.

Skip the animal.

Old Process

vs.

New Process

Pflanzliche
Rohstoffe.

Know-How.

Dank stetig wachsender Prozesskenntnisse entwickeln wir uns kontinuierlich weiter und können neues Wissen sofort in Updates für unsere Produkte umsetzen. So werden aus wenigen ausgewählten Zutaten köstliche und 100% natürliche Produkte.

Qualität ohne Quälerei.

Wir arbeiten eng mit unseren Lieferanten zusammen, um sicherzustellen, dass höchste Produktqualitätsstandards eingehalten werden. Mit modernen Laborgeräten und selbst entwickelten Qualitätskontrolltechniken überprüfen wir ständig die Qualität unserer Produkte.

Pflanzenbasierte Goodness.

Neben Wasser, ein wenig Öl, einer gesunden Portion Vitamin B12 und Gewürzen, bestehen unsere Produkte zum überwiegenden Teil aus pflanzlichen Proteinen und Pflanzenfasern. Wir haben uns zum Ziel gesetzt, dass jeder Baustein sowohl technologische, sensorische als auch physiologische Funktionen erfüllt, um auf lange Zutatenlisten zu verzichten.

Proteine

Proteine erfüllen nicht nur lebenswichtige Funktionen im menschlichen Körper, sondern sind durch ihre Funktionalität essentiell für die faserige Struktur unserer Produkte. Durch die Scherung und thermische Behandlung während des Extrusionsprozesses ordnen sich die Proteine in fleischfaser-artigen Strukturen an und verfestigen, wie wir es vom Stocken von Eiweiss kennen.

Erbsenprotein

Momentan verwenden wir überwiegend das Protein der Gelberbse–pisum sativum, das durch das komplette Aminosäurenprofil zu einer gesunden Ernährung beiträgt. Leguminosen, zu denen Erbsen zählen, können in Symbiose mit Bodenbakterien Stickstoff im Boden binden und kommen daher in der Regel ohne zusätzliche Stickstoffdünger aus.

Sonnenblumenprotein

Das Sonnenblumenprotein hilft in unserem planted.pulled bei der Bildung von langen Faserstrukturen, kreiert einen dezent nussigen Geschmack und gibt eine dunklere Farbe. Ausserdem geben wir damit dem Presskuchen aus der Sonnenblumenöl-Produktion ein zweites Leben.

Haferprotein

Haferprotein ergänzt das Aminosäurenprofil von Erbsenprotein durch ausreichende Level an Methionin und Cystein und ist daher eine ideale Ergänzung für unser Produktportfolio. Diversität ist nicht nur wichtig für unsere Ernährung, sondern auch für die Landwirtschaft. Daher setzen wir heute und in Zukunft auf diverse pflanzliche Rohstoffquellen.

Pflanzenfasern

Der hohe Anteil an Pflanzenfasern in unseren Produkten ist wohl die stärkste Differenzierung zum tierischen Fleisch. Die Pflanzenfasern tragen nicht nur technologisch zu einer ausgeprägten Faserstruktur und sensorisch zur optimalen Textur in unseren Produkten bei, sondern spielen als "Ballaststoffe" eine sehr wichtige Rolle für eine ausgewogene Ernährung. Wir setzen momentan überwiegend die Fasern der Gelberbse ein um das volle Potential dieser Pflanze zu nutzen.

Circular Economy.

Rohstoffe werden nach Möglichkeit mit einem Kreislaufwirtschaftsansatz beschafft, um noch ressourcensparender produzieren zu können. Beispielsweise nutzen wir proteinreiche Materialien wie Sonnenblumen- oder Kürbiskerne, die sonst als Tierfutter verwendet werden, für unsere Produkte.

Unser
Produktionsprozess.

Nassextrusion zur Fasergewinnung.

Als würden wir einen Teig kneten, mischen wir Protein-Mehl, Pflanzenfasern, Rapsöl und Wasser und erhitzen das Ganze bei kontinuierlicher Steigerung der Temperatur. Das erste Kochen macht die Masse schön weich und mit feinen Klingen schaffen wir die Faserstruktur, die dem Fleisch sehr nahe kommt. Unsere Produktionsabläufe optimieren wir dabei kontinuierlich mit massgeschneiderten, patentierten Lösungen, die die Qualität unseres Produktes verbessern, Automatisierung maximieren und Abfälle minimieren.

Keine Chemie, keine Zusatzstoffe: Die Herstellung unserer Produkte ist 100% natürlich und nutzt ausschliesslich mechanische und thermale Prozesse.

So funktioniert’s.

Ernte.

Im ersten Schritt ernten die Bauern und Bäuerinnen unseres Vertrauens die leckeren, 100% natürlichen Rohstoffe all unserer Produkte.

Mehl aus Pflanzen.

Die reiche Ernte verwandeln unsere Partner in nährstoffreiches Mehl – die optimale Mischung aus Pflanzenproteinen und -fasern zur Weiterverarbeitung in unseren Anlagen.

Extrusion.

Wir packen die Mehlmischung dann in den sogenannten Extruder, wo wir sie mit Wasser und Rapsöl vermischen, maschinell durchkneten und erhitzen. Je nach Mischung und Feinjustierung der Maschine kreieren wir so die unterschiedlichsten Extrudate mit individueller Faserstruktur.

Zerkleinern.

Die bissfesten Ergebnisse der Extrusion werden dann maschinell auf die richtige Grösse gebracht und sorgfältig zerkleinert.

Marinieren.

Je nach Produkt fügen wir dann die passende, leckere Marinade aus ausschliesslich natürlichen Gewürzmischungen hinzu und sorgen so für den unvergleichlichen Geschmack von Planted.

Abpacken und geniessen.

Um die Haltbarkeit und Qualität unserer Produkte sicherzustellen, werden sie dann, ganz wie konventionelles Fleisch, hygienisch und sicher verpackt und für die Reise in weltweite Pfannen vorbereitet.

planted.production

Schau hinter die Kulissen.

Inzwischen weisst du ja, dass wir besonderen Wert darauf legen, immer transparent zu sein. Aus diesem Grund haben wir mitten in unserer Fabrik sogar ein Gewächshaus gebaut, dass du dir in aller Ruhe ganz genau anschauen kannst. Warum? Wir möchten, dass du siehst, was wir da tun – Geheimnisse braucht kein Mensch.

Open Innovation & Future Foods.

Wir glauben, dass gemeinsame Forschung der Schlüssel zur raschen Verbesserung unseres Welternährungssystems ist. Daher sind wir sehr stolz darauf, mit verschiedenen akademischen und industriellen Wissenschaftlern zusammen zu arbeiten, um Innovationen zusammen voranzutreiben.

Wenn du an wissenschaftlichen Kooperationen interessiert bist, wende dich gleich an unseren Wissenschaftsleiter

Dr. Patrick Rühs
Head of Science
patrick@planted.ch

Future Foods: Unsere Mission

In Bezug auf Geschmack, Natürlichkeit und Gesundheit wird es immer schwieriger, die Ansprüche der Konsumenten zu erfüllen. Traditionelle Lebensmittelansätze werden dazu mittel- bis langfristig nicht mehr genügen – und genau deshalb nehmen wir Biologie als Inspiration um den Fleischersatz der Zukunft zu erschaffen.

Wir nutzen die biochemischen Werkzeuge, die natürlich vorkommende und nicht modifizierte Bakterien, Pilze und einzelne Zellen bieten, und kombinieren sie mit unserem Strukturierungs-Know-how, um die nächste Generation von Clean-Label-Lebensmitteln zu schaffen. Unsere zukünftigen und zukunftsorientierten Lebensmittelkonzepte werden es uns ermöglichen, den stetig steigenden Verbraucheranforderungen gerecht zu werden, Vertrauen zu sichern und zu erweitern, sowie unsere Position im Bereich alternativer Proteine und auf den Tellern weltweit zu rechtfertigen.

Open Innovation & Education.

Wir sind fest davon überzeugt, dass das Teilen von Wissen durch aktive Kommunikation und Wissensvermittlung zum Thema pflanzenbasierter Ernährung uns den Weg in eine nachhaltige Zukunft ebnen kann.

Wissenschaftliche
Kollaborationen.